Brief Note
  Detailed Information
Brief Note on Commissionerate, Rural Development


  • Rural Development was a part of Forest & Rural Development Department prior to 1985. The Govt. vide G.O.Ms.No.400, Forest & Rural Development (RD.III) Department, Dated 04.10.1985 has transferred the Rural Development wing from the Secretariat to the newly created Commissionerate of Panchayat Raj & Rural Development for effective implementation of various Rural Development programmes.

  • The Commissionerate of PR & RD started functioning from the Rajaram Insurance Building Complex w.e.f. 4.10.1985. Certain additional posts have also been sanctioned to strengthen the Commissionerate of Panchayat Raj & Rural Development in the same G.O.

  • During the year 1994, a separate Commissioner of Rural Development was posted as Head of the Rural Development Department de-linking it from the Panchayat Raj wing. The Department had two major wings namely DPAP & Wage Employment and Development of Women & Children in Rural Areas (DWCRA).

  • The Commissionerate of Rural Development was further bifurcated into
    a) Commissionerate of Rural Development &
    b) Commissionerate of Women Empowerment & Self Employment vide G.O.Ms.No.198, PR&RD (RD.II) Department, Dt.14.6.2001.

  • Government have issued orders merging the Women Empowerment & Self Employment wing with the Commissionerate of Rural Development vide G.O.Ms.No.15, PR&RD (RD.III) Department, Dt.25.01.2005.

  • Further, as required under the implementation arrangements for AP Rural Livelihoods Project, certain additional posts have been created as Project Management Unit (PMU) to strengthen the Commissionerate of Rural Development vide G.O.Ms.No.63, PR&RD (RD.IV) Department, Dt.11.3.2003.

  • The Government of Andhra Pradesh promulgated the Andhra Pradesh Water, Land & Tress Act (2002) to promote water conservation, tree cover and regulate the exploitation and use of ground and surface water and for protection and conservation of water sources, land and environment in the entire state.
    The Act came in to force w.e.f. 19.4.2002. A state level APWALTA authority was constituted under G.O.Ms.No.240, PR&RD Department, Dt.06.11.2004 while authorities at district and mandal levels were constituted under G.O.Ms.No. 244, PR&RD Department Dt. 26.06.2002. The Commissioner, Rural Development is designated as Administrator under the APWALTA Act.

    The Commissionerate of Rural Development has now got three wings namely

    1) Watersheds & Wage Employment programmes and

    2) Self Help Groups and related programmes.

    3) National Rural Employment Guarantee Programme